Buccaneers hire Bruce Arians as next head coach

Melissa Rawlins / ESPN Images(TAMPA, Fla.) — Bruce Arians is stepping out of retirement and returning back to the football field.

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers announced late Tuesday that they have hired Arians as their next head coach. Both sides agreed to a four-year contract with a fifth-year option.

“Bruce Arians is one of the NFL’s most well-respected coaches over the past two decades and we are excited to have him leading our team,” Buccaneers owner Bryan Glazer said in a statement.

“Bruce has played a large role in the development and career success of some of our league’s best players and we look forward to seeing him continue that work here with our franchise,” Glazer added.

Arians replaces Dirk Koetter, who was fired as Tampa Bay’s head coach on Dec. 31 after three seasons with the team. The Buccaneers finished the 2018 season with a record of 5-11.

This past season, Arians, 66, worked as a NFL game analyst for CBS. The year before, he retired as the head coach of the Arizona Cardinals after five seasons with the team.

In a tweet late Tuesday, Arians said he was “proud and honored” to be named the next head coach for the Buccaneers.

Copyright © 2019, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Recently in Sports

Haloti Ngata retires 'on top' after 13 seasons in NFL

Mitchell Leff/Getty Images(NEW YORK) — After 13 seasons in the NFL, defensive tackle Haloti Ngata announced his retirement on Monday — and he did so on top of the world. The 35-year-old made the announcement after scaling

Scoreboard roundup — 3/17/19

iStock(NEW YORK) — Here are the scores from Sunday’s sports events: MAJOR LEAGUE BASEBALL INTERLEAGUEOakland 5, Hokkaido Nippon-Ham Fighters 1Houston 7, Atlanta 3Pittsburgh 8, Boston 1NY Yankees 7 Philadelphia 3Detroit 3, Atlanta 2San Francisco 7, Kansas City

Who has clinched an automatic NCAA tournament berth?

iStock/cmannphoto(NEW YORK) — The following teams have automatically qualified for the NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament by winning their conference championship: America East Conference: Vermont Catamounts Atlantic Sun Conference: Liberty Flames Big South Conference: Gardner-Webb Bulldogs Colonial Athletic